Budapest Celtic F.C. (Celtic) was established in 1996 by a group of British and Irish expats, who wanted to play a serious game of football, but realised that the only way of guaranteeing games was by joining the local Budapest League IV Division (BLSZ) in 1998.

A final position of 3rd place was Celtic's achievement in their inaugural season of playing in the Hungarian National League (BLSZ) in 1998.

In 2001, Celtic successfully gained promotion to Division 3. 

First Team Squad (1996)

Back row (left to right): Csaba Arkosi, Tim Scott Hunter, Declan O’Callaghan, Kieran Fahy, Gearoid O’Sullivan, Paul Morgan. Front Row: Steve, Padraig Byrnes, John Smith, Chris Gibbons (captain & gaffer), Peter Janosi, Richard Eames, Gary Waddock

Over the years, we have seen players come and go and we pride ourselves in having had footballers from the four corners of the globe. Even though we may have lost one or two of our players on trips abroad, Celtic continues to go from strength to strength and are the reigning champions of the World Cup Magyarország League Division 1.

Celtic Kaledonians F.C. was formed in 2006 to participate in Division 2 of the World Cup Magyarország League. We finished third in our inaugural season that year, but then won the championship the following season.

First Team Squad (1998)

Back row (left to right): John Smith (player-manager), Tom Thorne, Gearoid O’Sullivan (capt), Kalman Kovacs, Zsolt Nemes, Niels Boving, Gabor Florovits, Padraig Byrne,; Declan O’Callaghan. Front Row: Gerry Gillespie, Richard Eames, Mehmood Remtulla, Tamas Vukovich, Robert Longworth, Jesper Drachman, Kieran Fahy

 Frank Smith Irish
 Gearoid O'Sullivan Irish
 Gerry Gillespie Irish
 Kieran Fahy Irish
 Declan O'Callaghan Irish
 Padraig Byrnes Irish
 Brendan Dunne Irish
 Anthony Flanagan Irish
 Andy Thiel British
 John Smith British
 Tim Scott Hunter British
 Richard Eames British
 Robert Longworth Canadian
 Mahmood Remtulla Canadian
 Jesper Drachmann Danish
 Niels Boving Danish
 Gabor Florivits Hungarian
 Kalman Kovács Hungarian
 Zsolt Nemes Hungarian
 Tamas Vukovich Swedish
 Tom Thorne American

The inaugural World Cup Magyarország took place in spring 2001, with Szigeti Source, and the MBIS from Budapest, SCI from Tatabánya, and SCA from Nagykáta being its founder members.

By the end of the first season of 900 minutes of football, there was no declared winner, none of the 4 positions were decided, and there wasn't any trophy to give to the team that hadn't won it. During the course of the season however, ample enthusiasm was generated, and plans were made to continue running the tournament.

The league has now stabilised at fourteen members, runs every Spring (March to June) and Autumn (September to November), and remains strictly-by-invitation only. Twenty teams have taken part in the ten seasons to date, and players from over 30 countries across Europe, South America, North America, Asia, Africa, the Middle East and Oceania have given the competition a strong international flavour.